Yea Wetlands Committee of Management

The Yea Wetlands comprises 32 ha of Crown land floodplains on the edge of Yea township. Both Yea River anabranches flow through the wetlands site. Part of the wetlands on the south side of the Goulburn Valley Highway is coming under the management of the committee.

The committee manages the northern side of the wetlands for the preservation and protection of the area’s environmental assets with development of walkways, bridges, bird hides and interpretive signage. The Murrindindi Shire staff take care of maintaining walking paths and mowing, but the committee and ‘Friends of Yea Wetlands’ do everything else by seeking grants, and holding working bees and community planting days etc. Local community and service clubs have contributed some $250,000 in cash and in-kind support while the Murrindindi Shire Council has contributed $17,000 cash and executive assistance through management of these grants.

The Y Water Discovery Centre is a separate entity, under management of the Y Water Association.

In 2016 the committee completed a five year project to manage the invasive Japanese Honeysuckle.

As the Wetlands is a community asset, we are always grateful to have new members join our network  of friends who help keep this beautiful site maintained.

We also regularly monitor the native fauna with infra-red cameras.

Chair: Geoff Leslie

Treasurer: Amanda Hard

Secretary: Richard Lane

General Committee: Ron Litjens, Angela ten Buuren, Corinne Border, Peter Roberts, Clive Bullen, John Anderson

Environment Portfolio Rep:

Please enter your name.
Please enter a subject.
Please enter a message.

Leave a Comment

Upper Goulburn Landcare Network

proudly supported by:

Upper Goulburn Landcare Network


Terms & Conditions

Copyright 2017. Upper Goulburn Landcare Network
Made with ❤ by Regional Business Toolkit